Akinwumi Adesina of Nigeria elected 8th President of the AfDB

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest news and business opportunities in your inbox
Akinwumi Adesina of Nigeria elected 8th President of the AfDB

Albert Toikeusse Mabri Chairman of the Board of Governors of the African Development Bank (AfDB) has announced that Akinwumi Adesina of Nigeria has been elected as the 8th President of the AfDB.

"Today, I have been given a great responsibility," Akinwumi A. Adesina said Thursday upon his election. The President-Elect said he was "humbled by this remarkable vote of confidence in me" on the part of the Bank's Board of Governors, who met during the Bank Group's 50th Annual Meetings in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire.

The election process was concluded by voting among the Bank's Board of Governors (54 regional member countries, 26 non-regional), whose voting powers are weighted.

Mabri emphasized that the result "was an expression of the willingness of all the member countries," and he applauded the "good spirit that prevailed during the election process that was not marked by any tension."

Currently serving as Nigeria's Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Akinwumi A. Adesina succeeds Donald Kaberuka, whose second term as President of the Bank ends on August 31, 2015, and to whom he paid tribute in a press conference, saying, "I salute the excellent work of President Kaberuka. It will be a big challenge for me to step into his shoes. He leaves a solid Bank behind him."

In his speech at the Annual Meetings opening ceremony on Monday, May 25, outgoing AfDB President Donald Kaberuka had said:

"To my incoming successor, my very best wishes.  Ten years goes by very quickly. It is a complex and merciless job, but very exciting. It is, in fact, not a job - but a mission."

Akinwumi A. Adesina, 55, will assume office on 1 September 2015.  

A total of eight candidatures received by the closing date of 30 January 2015 were approved by the Steering Committee of the Board of Governors.  The list of candidates was officially announced on 20 February 2015.

The other candidates in the election were:

  • Sufian Ahmed (Ethiopia)
  • Jaloul Ayed (Tunisia)
  • Kordjé Bedoumra (Chad)
  • Cristina Duarte (Cabo Verde)
  • Samura M W Kamara (Sierra Leone)
  • Thomas Z Sakala (Zimbabwe)
  • Birama Boubacar Sidibé (Mali)

Share this news

Join us

In order to get full access to News section, you must have a full subscription. You can check all the benefits of becoming a member and purchase a subscription on our membership page.